Book Review – “Fall of Giants”

Fall of Giants (The Century Trilogy, #1)Fall of Giants by Ken Follett
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

So we can all agree that historical novels are where authors take the greatest risk.

I have read quite a few of Ken Follett’s thrillers, and then Pillars of the Earth. Unfortunately, this one on WW I just doesn’t make it for me.

I am writing this some months after completing Fall of Giants (The Century Trilogy, #1) – I had held off because a person with whom I have a close personal relationship had highly recommended it. But now, as I want to close-up-my-ranks and complete the reviews on my smallish WW I category here on GR (and realizing he/she is not a GR member), I will plunge ahead. However, just to be clear, I will NOT be proceeding with #s 2 and 3 of the Trilogy).

I’d like to conclude that WW I just doesn’t lend itself to historical novels, but that can’t be true because I really enjoyed James Carroll’s “Supply of Heroes”: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2…. And Solzynetsin’s “August 1914” is magnificent. And Niall Ferguson provides an impressive list of literature in “The Pity of War”.

What is it about this one. It’s not that it’s bad, or unrealistic about the troubles faced by both ordinary (coal miners) people and the aristocracy in the Great War. Maybe just a touch insipid.

Maybe it’s just me.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews from GoodReads.com, Fiction

Leave a Reply

